Extrusions

Extrusion - zonal temperature control: Efficient temperature control with Tool-Temp units

Precise temperature control is essential throughout the entire extrusion process. We will help you determine which temperature control unit is right for your production processes.

Temperature control and cooling units from Tool-Temp optimise and control the temperature for process steps such as melting, compounding, homogenising, conditioning and removal. Temperatures may need to be raised or lowered on a zonal basis depending on the product and production methods.

There are a range of clear advantages to using temperature control units with liquid heat transfer mediums. Alongside homogenous heat distribution, heat delivery and removal are simultaneously controlled within a temperature zone. Precise and fast changes in temperature improve the structure of the material and helps ensure an optimum surface quality. The improved conveying characteristics allow for high throughputs whilst maintaining the same level of quality and increased energy efficiency.

In order to keep up with the ever increasing market demands on production and quality in extrusion processes, we offer a wide range of high performance, fast and precise temperature control units.

Tool-Temp temperature control units in the extrusion process:

Robust, durable and designed for 24/7 operation: Temperature control units for use in your extrusion process.

Tool-Temp products are developed and produced exclusively in Switzerland. Starting in the development phase, careful attention is given to the selection of high-quality components for our products. All parts that come into contact with water are made of stainless steel or bronze Tool-Temp does not use any flexible joints in its products, choosing to use only robust piping. All control units make use of the latest technology to precisely regulate the temperature to within one tenth of a degree. They also feature integrated flow rate measurement which constantly monitors circulation of the medium.

Tool-Temp possesses a high degree of vertical integration, guaranteeing quality at every stage of production. Key components such as pumps, heat exchangers, flow sensors and special switches and relays are produced at the factory in Sulgen.

Short response times for bespoke customer solutions are an integral part of the service we offer. We ensure optimum temperature control so that you can concentrate on your extrusion production process.

Extrusion - zone temperature control -Efficient temperature controlwith Tool-Temp units

What is extrusion?
Extrusion is a process in which conveyor equipment (extruders) based on the principle of an Archimedes screw pushes a viscous mass under high pressure evenly through a shaped opening. This creates a solid, known as the ‘extrudate’, that has a cross-section in the shape of the opening. Theoretically, this extrudate can be of any length. Our temperature control units can deliver optimum temperature control for these complex processes.

Design and function of an extruder
An extruder fundamentally consists of a screw shaft inside a screw cylinder whose inner diameter is roughly the same as the outer diameter of the screw. At the front end of the cylinder is an opening, known as the ‘nozzle’. The screw is mounted at the rear end of the cylinder. This is where the motor is located. This motor is usually an electromotor with a gear unit. These gears are responsible for controlling the rotation of the screw. In most cases, the material being used is continuously fed into the cylinder from above via a funnel. When using multi-component materials, it is important to ensure that the composition is precisely dosed and reproduceable. Depending on the regulating mechanism used, either gravimetric or volumetric dosing is used.

If additional components are required for the extrusion, these can be added via a needle valve or side feed into the screw cylinder – this process is known as coextrusion. When working with plastics, for example, dyes (masterbatches), antioxidants, plasticizers or reinforcing fibres can be added.

Controlling the temperature of an extruder – with a process thermostat from Tool-Temp

Extrusion process – excellent temperature control for your processes with temperature control units from Tool-Temp
An extruder can be used for a range of different tasks. It can be used for mixing, compacting, blending, degassing and granulating a material. Depending on the base material and the intended end product, different designs are used. Piston, screw, double screw and planetary roller extruders are among the designs available.

Extrusion using an extruder is a versatile process for working with elastomers and thermoplastics, but also foodstuffs and pet food.

Extrusion has become an important technical process within the plastics and food industries as well as in recycling. A huge range of products can be produced using extrusion. Products that can be produced using extrusion include pipes, poles, window frame profiles, seals and tubes. Semi-finished products, sheets for use in thermoforming, films, polystyrene hard foam panels, small automotive parts and bicycle wheel rims are also among the wide range of things that can be produced, along with pasta products, snack foods, biscuits, reformed meat and pet food.

The various different properties of different materials have resulted in the development of a large number of different processing methods. Extruders can be divided into two fundamental types: processing and compounding extruders. Processing extruders usually have a single screw and are primarily used for forming operations. Compounding extruders are used when chemical and/or physical modifications to the material are needed. Double screw extruders and mixers are often used in this case.

  • Cold extrusion
    Low pressures, low temperatures and shearing forces
  • Warm extrusion
    Low pressures, higher temperatures
  • Hot extrusion
    High pressures and high temperatures
  • Coextrusion
    Merging of two similar or dissimilar materials before they leave the profile nozzle. This is either a single-step or two-step process.

A. Plastics industry and plastics processing
Tool-Temp temperature control systems bring proven and robust technology to your extrusion production process. We will be happy to pass on our many years of experience and develop a customised solution that precisely meets the temperature control needs of your process.

Extrusion can be used to produce seamless plates, pipes and profiles with a constant cross-section. Alongside semi-finished products, extruders are regularly used as a preliminary stage for injection moulding.

When extruding plastics, heating bands are attached to the screw cylinder to melt the plastic granules or powder. Depending on the plastic being used, equipment to pump out gases may be required to prevent bubbles from forming in the end product. Extruders do not need to be heated, while there are a few processing techniques where it is necessary to cool the plasticized material. This cooling is done either using cooling blowers or cooling channels integrated into the cylinder through which a cooling medium flows. Thermoplastics and thermoplastic elastomers are usually used in extrusion. Thermosetting plastics are extruded only in special cases. Various methods can be used:

Sheet extrusion
The plasticized material is pressed through a wide slit nozzle and then smoothed out across a three-roller machine at decreasing temperatures and brought to the right thickness. Once cooled, the product is cut into sheets.

Pipe and profile extrusion
This type of extrusion presses the plasticized material through a ring or profile nozzle, it is then calibrated and cooled. Pipe and profile extrusion requires that the extruded material is cooled in a calibration table so that it does not deform. The core of the calibration table is the sizing sleeve, the primary function of which is to ensure the pipe or profile retains its shape. This is positioned directly after the nozzle on the extruder and consists of a metal block, the interior of which is precisely the same size as the pipe or profile cross-section. Calibrating hollow profiles uses inflation air or a vacuum. The extruded pipe or profile passes through the calibration sleeve. The shape of the profile is maintained inside the sleeve using air or a vacuum. Vacuum openings at various point in the sleeve along the length of the cross-section suck the profile against the inner walls while water flows through and around the profile to cool it. The exact type and shape of the calibration table depends on the plastic product to be extruded. Complex profiles such as window frames require a lot of expertise to ensure that the profile does not sag inwards on itself and become deformed while being cooled.

Film extrusion
The plasticized material is pressed through a narrow slit nozzle and drawn over cooling rollers as well as being stretched through a rolling mill. This process can produce films with thicknesses of 8-15 µm and a width of up to 4 m.

Blown film extrusion
Extruders are also found in blown film production systems. In this process, rather than extruding a profile, the plasticized material is blown into an extremely thin film bubble. The molten material is guided vertically upwards and through spiral mandrel dies into the shape of a hose. Up to nine extruders are arranged in a ring and the individual flows of molten materials are combined in the spiral mandrel dies, allowing multi-layered films to be produced. The material is then stretched both horizontally and vertically in order to reduce the thickness of the molten tube down to the thicknesses commonly used today which are measured in hundredths of a millimetre. This is done by blowing in air centrally. The flow of air not only mechanically stretches the hose, but also cools it so that it sets into its shape. The film hose is calibrated through a basket, cut and rolled.

Blow moulding
The plasticized material is pressed through a ring-shaped nozzle to form a tube. The still plastic tube is pinched off by a two-part mould and blown using pressurised air. The hose becomes pressed to the mould and the blown part is ejected once cooled. This method is used for creating hollow products such as tubes, bottles, cannisters, barrels, etc.

B. Food industry – temperature control and cooling foodstuffs
Extrusion is at the centre of many the production processes used in the food and pet food sectors. We can provide you with the equipment you need for your processes. Alongside the plastics industry, the food industry is the main user of extruders. Extruders knead, mix, cook and portion food such as cereals, cornflakes, texturised proteins, vitaminised rice and pasta. To ensure that products remain consistent in terms of quality, consistency and flavour, precise and reproduceable temperature control is essential. Cooking processes need to be performed with perfect precision. Furthermore, there will often be several recipes that have to be switched between during production. Using hot extrusion, an aqueous material is heated under high pressure in a compression screw. The pressure drops off at the outlet nozzle and the product loosens up. Starch that has already gelatinised can support gas retention and hold on to solid pores. Typical products made using this method include peanut flips, snacks, various types of bread and baked goods.

C. Rubber industry
Rubber extrusion is a hot extrusion shaping process in which synthetic or natural rubber granules are pressed through a die to produce profiles, sealing materials, mats, etc.

D. Recycling
Special single or double screw extruders are used to turn clean and sorted plastic waste into recyclates (recycled material for creating new plastic products). The polymer unit is extremely important for achieving the high degree of quality required in this process. So that all contaminants within the plastic to be recycled can be removed, they are removed from the flowing molten material between the conveyor machine (extruder) and the extrusion die. Various separating techniques are often used in advance to ensure the purity of the material. Additives can be included during the extrusion process to improve the properties of the plastic.

Get in touch with our extrusion experts

More about us

1. |
  2. Industries
  3. |
  4. Extrusion
Extrusions

Extrusion – thermorégulation de zones : contrôle de la température efficace avec les appareils Tool-Temp

Dans l’extrusion, le contrôle de la température précis joue un rôle décisif tout au long du processus d’usinage. Nous vous aidons à trouver le thermorégulateur adapté à vos processus de production.

Les thermorégulateurs et refroidisseurs de Tool-Temp optimisent et commandent lors d’étapes de processus comme la fonte, le mélange, l’homogénéisation, le conditionnement ainsi que l’application, la température qui doit être augmentée ou réduite par zone en fonction du produit et du processus de fabrication.

La thermorégulation avec des caloporteurs fluides apporte ici des avantages indéniables. Outre une répartition homogène de la température, l’arrivée et la sortie parallèles de la chaleur dans une zone thermorégulée sont également régulées. Le contrôle de la température précis et réactif améliore la structure de la masse transportée et aide à obtenir une qualité de surface optimale. L’amélioration du transport permet des rendements plus importants avec une qualité constante et une efficacité énergétique accrue.

Afin de pouvoir répondre aux exigences marché toujours croissantes en matière de fabrication et de qualité dans les processus d’extrusion, nous proposons une vaste palette de thermorégulateurs puissants, réactifs et précis.

Les thermorégulateurs de Tool-Temp dans les processus d'extrusion :

robustes, durables, et conçus pour un fonctionnement 24h/24 et 7j/7 pour une utilisation adaptée à votre procédé d’extrusion.

Les produits Tool-Temp sont développés et fabriqués exclusivement en Suisse. Dès le développement, une attention toute particulière est accordée à la sélection de composants de qualité supérieure pour les appareils. Tous les composants en contact avec de l’eau sont ainsi en acier inoxydable ou en bronze. Pour tous les appareils, Tool-Temp renonce à des raccords flexibles et mise volontairement sur une tuyauterie robuste. Grâce à la toute dernière technologie, tous les appareils effectuent un réglage précis à un dixième de degré et disposent d’un contrôle de débit intégré, qui permet de surveiller la circulation du fluide à tout moment.

Tool-Temp dispose d’une vaste usine fabrication interne, qui garantit une assurance qualité constante. Les composants importants comme les pompes, les échangeurs thermiques, le débitmètre, ainsi que les interrupteurs et relais spéciaux sont produits à l’usine de Sulgen.

Pour nous, des temps de réaction courts pour des solutions personnalisées sont une évidence et font partie de notre offre de service. Nous nous chargeons d’un contrôle de la température optimal, afin que vous puissiez vous concentrer sur vos processus de production d’extrusion.

Brochure Mould Temperature Control Extrusion

Extrusion – thermorégulation de zones –contrôle efficace de la températureavec les appareils Tool-Temp

Définition de l’extrusion
L’extrusion décrit un processus lors duquel des dispositifs transporteurs (extrudeuses) expulsent, selon le principe de fonctionnement de la vis d’Archimède, une masse solide à visqueuse à haute pression et à température élevée d’une ouverture de moulage. Des corps présentant la section de l’ouverture, appelés extrudats, apparaissent alors dans une longueur théoriquement quelconque. Nous vous soutenons dans ces processus complexes avec nos thermorégulateurs pour un contrôle optimal de la température.

Construction et fonction d’une extrudeuse
Une extrudeuse se compose à l’origine d’un arbre à vis sans fin, placé dans un cylindre à vis sans fin, et dont le diamètre correspond à peu près au diamètre extérieur de la vis sans fin. Un orifice de sortie appelé buse se situe au niveau de l’extrémité avant du cylindre. La vis sans fin est située à l’extrémité arrière du cylindre de vis sans fin. C’est là que se trouve l’entraînement, composé dans la plupart des cas d’un moteur électrique et d’une unité de transmission. Cette transmission d’extrudeuse se charge de la rotation de l’arbre à vis sans fin. Dans la plupart des cas, le matériau à usiner est alimenté en continu dans le cylindre via une trémie horizontale placé sur le haut. Si le matériau se compose de plusieurs composants, il est important que la composition du mélange soit dosée de manière exacte et reproductible. En fonction du mécanisme de régulation utilisé, une différence est faite entre dosage gravimétrique et volumétrique.

Si d’autres composants sont nécessaires pour l’extrusion, ces derniers peuvent être amenés par exemple via des vannes à pointeaux ou une alimentation latérale dans le cylindre à vis. On parle alors ici de coextrusion. Avec ces matériaux, il peut s’agir par exemple pour l’usinage de plastique de colorants (masterbatches), d’inhibiteurs de vieillissement, de plastifiants ou de fibres de renforcement.

Thermorégulation d’une extrudeuse avec un thermostat de processus de Tool-Temp

Procédé d’extrusion – une aide précieuse au niveau du contrôle de la température avec les thermorégulateurs de Tool-Temp
Une extrudeuse peut se charger d’une multitude de tâches. Elle s’utilise pour mélanger, compacter, couper, dégazer et la granuler la masse. Différentes constructions sont utilisées en fonction du matériau de base et du produit final souhaité. On distingue les extrudeuses à piston, à vis sans fin, à double vis sans fin et à vis planétaire.

L’extrusion à l’aide d’une extrudeuse est un processus polyvalent pour la transformation d’élastomères et de plastiques thermoplastiques, mais également de denrées alimentaires et d’aliments pour animaux.

L’extrusion est devenue un élément technique important dans l’industrie du plastique et alimentaire, ainsi que dans le domaine du recyclage. Les produits d’extrusion obtenus sont très différents. Tubes, tiges, profilés de châssis de fenêtre, joints et flexibles sont des produits fabriqués à l’aide de l’extrusion. L’on a également les produits semi-finis, les plaques pour la transformation ultérieure par thermoformage, les films, les panneaux en mousse dure de polystyrène, les petites pièces automobiles et les jantes de vélos dans la vaste palette de produits tout comme les pâtes, les biscuits salés, les gâteaux secs, la viande reconstituée et les aliments pour animaux.

Du fait des propriétés différentes du matériau à usiner, de nombreux procédés se sont établis dans la technologie de transformation. Les extrudeuses peuvent être réparties en deux catégories : les extrudeuses de transformation et les extrudeuses de préparation. Les extrudeuses de transformation, souvent des extrudeuses à un arbre, servent principalement au formage. D’un autre côté se trouve l’extrudeuse de préparation, qui sert à la modification chimique et/ou physique des matériaux. Les extrudeuses à arbre double et les malaxeurs sont les plus utilisés ici.

  • Extrusion à froid
    Pressions, températures et forces de cisaillement basses
  • Extrusion à chaud
    Basses pressions, températures plus élevées
  • Extrusion à haute température
    Pressions et températures élevées
  • Co-extrusion
    Fusion de matériaux de nature semblable ou différente avant de quitter la buse de profilage. On distingue ici les procédés à une et à deux étapes.

A. Industrie plastique et usinage du plastique
Grâce aux systèmes de thermorégulation de Tool-Temp, vous utilisez une technique éprouvée et robuste pour votre procédé de production dans le domaine de l’extrusion. Nous vous faisons volontiers profiter de notre expérience de longue date et développons pour vous des solutions personnalisées afin d’obtenir un contrôle de la température adapté à votre processus.

L’extrusion permet de fabriquer des plaques, tubes et profilés sans soudure avec une section transversale constante. Outre la fabrication de produits semi-finis extrudés, le principal domaine d’utilisation des extrudeuses est le stade préliminaire du processus de moulage par injection.

Lors de l’extrusion du plastique, des rubans de chauffe qui font fondre les granulés de plastique ou la poudre remplie, sont fixés sur le cylindre à vis sans fin de l’extrudeuse. Également en fonction du plastique à usiner, un équipement de pompage des gaz est nécessaire pour éviter les bulles dans le produit fini. Les extrudeuses doivent non seulement être chauffées, mais certaines tâches techniques rendent également nécessaire le refroidissement de la matière plastique plastifiée. Ceci se fait soit avec un ventilateur de refroidissement ou dans des canaux de refroidissement intégrés dans le cylindre, traversés par un fluide de refroidissement. De manière générale, les thermoplastiques et les élastomères thermoplastiques sont extrudés. Les thermodurcissables sont uniquement transformés dans des cas spéciaux dans une extrudeuse. Différents procédés peuvent être utilisés :

Extrusion de plaques
La masse plastifiée est pressée au travers d’une buse à fente large, lissée ensuite sur un groupe de trois cylindres chauffé de manière décroissante et obtient ensuite l’épaisseur adaptée. Une fois refroidi, le produit est coupé en plaques.

Extrusion de tubes et de profilés
Pour cette forme d’extrusion, la masse plastifiée est pressée au travers d’une buse à bague ou à profilé, calibrée et refroidie. Pour l’extrusion de tube ou de profilé, le matériau extrudé doit être refroidi dans une table de calibrage pour ne pas se déformer. La pièce maîtresse de la table de calibrage est la douille de calibrage, qui sert en premier lieu à garder la forme du tube ou du profilé. Elle est placée directement derrière la buse de l’extrudeuse et se compose d’un bloc métallique, qui présente la section transversale exacte du tube ou du profilé. Le calibrage de profilés creux se fait par air d’appoint ou vide. Le tube ou profilé extrudé passe au travers de la douille de calibrage. Pour garder la forme du profilé, on travaille avec de l’air d’appoint ou du vide à l’intérieur de la buse. Les ouvertures de vide à différents endroits dans la buse le long de la section transversale aspirent le profilé au niveau des parois intérieures, de l’eau balaye en même temps le profilé jusqu’à ce qu’il soit refroidi. Le type et la forme de la table de calibrage dépendent considérablement du produit plastique à extruder. Pour les profilés complexes en particulier, comme les châssis de fenêtre, un savoir-faire conséquent est nécessaire pour que le profilé ne s’effondre pas sur lui-même et ne se déforme pas.

Extrusion de films
La masse plastifiée est pressée au travers d’une buse à fente large, récupérée par des rouleaux de refroidissement puis allongée par un laminoir adapté. Ce procédé permet de fabriquer des films de 8-15 µm d’épaisseur et jusqu’à 4 m de largeur.

Extrusion soufflage
Les extrudeuses sont également l’un des composants des installations de soufflage. Ici, le matériau plastifié n’est pas mis sous forme de profilé, mais est soufflé pour former une bulle ultra fine. Pour cela la fonte est déviée en direction verticale et un distributeur hélicoïdal lui donne la forme d’un tuyau. La disposition annulaire de jusqu’à neuf extrudeuses et la convergence des flux individuels de produit en fusion dans le distributeur hélicoïdal permettent de cette manière de produire des films multicouches. Pour amener la gaine de coulée sortant à l’épaisseur usuelle de nos jours de plusieurs centièmes de millimètres, les tuyaux sont ensuite étirés dans le sens de la longueur et transversal. Cela s’effectue par soufflage centré d’air, qui étire non seulement mécaniquement le tuyau, mais le refroidit également, fixant ainsi sa forme. Le film tubulaire est calibré au travers d’un panier, retourné et enroulé.

Soufflage de corps creux
La masse plastifiée passe par une buse annulaire pour obtenir une forme de tuyau. Le tuyau encore plastique est détaché par un moule en deux pièces et soufflé dans le moule à l’air comprimé. Le tuyau s’ajuste au moule, la pièce soufflée est éjectée après le refroidissement. Ce procédé est utilisé pour fabriquer des corps creux tels que les tubes, les bouteilles, les bidons, les fûts, etc.

B. Industrie alimentaire – thermorégulation et refroidissement de denrées alimentaires
L’élément central de nombreux processus de production de denrées alimentaires et d’aliments pour animaux est l’extrusion. Nous vous soutenons ici en vous proposant les appareils adaptés. Outre l’industrie plastique, l’industrie alimentaire est le principal client pour les extrudeuses. Les extrudeuses malaxent, mélangent, cuisent et portionnent les denrées alimentaires telles que les céréales, cornflakes, protéines texturées, riz vitaminé et pâtes. Pour que la qualité, la consistance et le goût des produits restent les mêmes, un contrôle de la température précis et reproductible est essentiel. Un processus de cuisson doit toujours être réalisé avec une grande précision. La plupart du temps, les recettes sont alternées. Lors de l’extrusion à haute température, une masse contenant de l’eau est chauffée à haute pression dans une vis de compactage. La pression baisse au niveau de la buse de sortie et le produit est fortement assoupli. L’amidon déjà gélatinisé peut alors favoriser la rétention des gaz et retenir les pores solides. Des produits typiques de ce procédé sont les croustilles aux cacahuètes, les biscuits salés, les types de pain et de petits pains.

C. Industrie du caoutchouc
L’extrusion du caoutchouc est un procédé de formage au cours duquel des granulés de caoutchouc synthétiques ou naturels sont pressés au travers d’un moule à outil dans le cadre d’un procédé d’extrusion à haute température, afin de fabriquer des profilés, des matériaux d’étanchéité, des tapis, etc.

D. Recyclage
Des extrudeuses spéciales à vis simple ou double sont utilisées pour le recyclage de déchets plastiques triés en matériaux recyclés (matériau de base pour de nouveaux produits plastiques). Afin de répondre aux exigences de qualité élevées lors de ce procédé de recyclage, l’unité polymère joue un rôle essentiel. Pour que toutes les impuretés puissent dans la mesure du possible être captées, la séparation se fait dans le flux de matériau fondu entre le convoyeur (extrudeuse) et l’outil d’extrusion. Différentes techniques de séparation sont souvent préalablement utilisées pour obtenir une pureté variétale. Lors de l’extrusion, les propriétés des plastiques peuvent être améliorées en ajoutant des additifs.

Contactez nosexperts en extrusion

À propos de nous